PortfolioXpert:Perspectives

From VPM Partners Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents


What is a Perspective?

A perspective is a layout of multiple views and can be a combination of any number of them. There are six pre-configured perspective layouts (screenshot), namely:

  • Portfolios – displays both user created and Premier Portfolio subscriptions.
  • Queries – displays queries created using user defined performance history and general data filters.
  • Reports – displays a report for each user created portfolio and allows each report to be exported in both the PDF and XLS format.
  • Research - allows users to conduct top-down research beginning at the sector level down to an individual symbol.
  • Symbols - displays both general and PortfolioXpert performance data for each symbol the system monitors.
  • Watch Lists - displays watch lists created using user defined triggers.

Customizing a Perspective Layout

Perspective layout can be customized to

Saving a Layout Locally

In most instances, saving a custom perspective layout is not necessary since any changes to a perspective's layout are automatically saved and remain saved until either new changes are made or the perspective is reset. In the event a custom perspective layout needs to be manually saved, ensure it is the active perspective being displayed, and then go to the Window Menu and select Save Perspective As (screenshot). A new window displaying the names of all the existing perspectives will open. Select one of the perspective names from the list, or enter a new name, and then click OK to save it (screenshot).

A few things to keep in mind when naming and saving a custom perspective layout are:

  • Saving it as one of the six default perspective names (i.e. Portfolios, Queries, Reports, Research, Symbols, or Watch Lists) will overwrite the original, default perspective layout making it more difficult to revert back to it at a later time.
  • Saving it as one of the six default perspective names allows it to be opened by clicking the appropriate perspective icon from the menu area.
  • Saving it as something other than one of the six default perspective names (i.e. Portfolios Custom) requires it be opened using the Custom feature.

Opening a Locally Saved Layout

To open one of the pre-configured perspective layouts, or a custom perspective layout that has been saved over one of the default perspective names, click the icon (screenshot). To open a custom perspective layout that has been saved under a name other than one of the default perspective names, use the Custom drop-down box (screenshot).

Removing a Locally Saved Layout

To delete a custom perspective layout that has been saved under a name other than one of the six default perspective names, go to the Window Menu and select Preferences (screenshot). With the preferences window now open, click the arrow to the left of General, to expand its contents, and then select Perspectives. Next, select the desired perspective from the list and then click the Delete button. A new window will open, click the Yes button (screenshot) and then click the OK button in the preferences window to save the changes and exit (screenshot).

Note that a custom perspective layout that has been saved using one of the six default perspective names (i.e. Portfolios, Queries, Reports, Research, Symbols, or Watch Lists) cannot be deleted, but rather, can only be reset back to the the original, default layout.

Resetting a Locally Saved Layout

Resetting a perspective returns it to the last saved layout. This is done by first ensuring that the perspective to be reset is the one actively being displayed. Next go to the Window Menu and select Reset Perspective (screenshot).

To reset a perspective that has been saved using one of the default PortfolioXpert perspective names (i.e. Portfolios, Queries, Reports, Research, Symbols, or Watch Lists) back to the original, pre-configured layout requires a slightly different procedure. To do this, go to the Window Menu and select Preferences (screenshot). With the preferences window now open, click the arrow to the left of General to expand its contents, and then select Perspectives. Next, select the desired perspective from the list and then click the Reset button. Click OK to save the changes and close the preferences window (screenshot). Lastly, with the perspective to be reset still actively being displayed, go to the Window Menu and select Reset Perspective (screenshot).

Saving a Layout Serverside

Opening a Serverside Layout

Removing a Serverside Layout


Top | Return to Wiki Home Page | Return to PortfolioXpert Main Page

Personal tools